University Restricted Travel

As part of the vision of a Global Penn State, we work with students, faculty, and staff to support safe international experiences to a wide range of countries, including some that are higher risk.  Advance planning is the best way to mitigate international travel risks, so please feel free to contact the Global Safety Office in the early stages of your planning process for travel to higher risk and otherwise restricted destinations. 

The University is always concerned with the safety of all members of the University Community while traveling as part of any University Affiliated International Travel.  Therefore, the following restrictions have been instituted.  Please refer to the University’s International Travel Requirements policy for additional information.  All petitions for travel to restricted countries should be submitted more than 30 days before departure and are reviewed by the International Restricted Travel Committee on a case-by-case basis.


Restricted Country List


Individual Faculty/Staff planning travel to a country on the Insurance Industry’s List of Restricted Countries must complete a Restricted Travel Petition as part of creating a travel record in TSN system.  

Faculty/staff traveling with students are subject to the list of countries restricted for students travel which are outlined below.


The list of countries restricted for student travel by the University is a dynamic list developed based on a variety of sources, including U.S. Department of State Travel Advisories and risk ratings from our international insurance provider.  In addition to this country list, any region within a country with a U.S. Department of State advisory of “reconsider travel” or “do not travel” is automatically restricted for student travel (applies to only that region, not the entire country), and travel to that region requires an approved petition (contact the Global Safety Office if you are in this situation).  

The current list of countries which are restricted for all student (undergraduate, graduate, and professional) travel and require an approved petition in advance of making travel plans include:

Penn State Restricted Countries for Students
Afghanistan Algeria Azerbaijan Bangladesh
Belarus Burkina Faso Burundi Cameroon
Central African Republic
Chad China Colombia
Democratic Republic of
Côte d'Ivoire
(Ivory Coast)
Cuba Djibouti
Egypt El Salvador Eritrea Ethiopia
Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Haiti
Honduras Indonesia Iran Iraq
Italy Japan Kenya Kosovo
Kyrgyzstan Lebanon Libya Mali
Mauritania Mexico Mongolia Myanmar
Nicaragua Niger Nigeria North Korea
Pakistan Papua New Guinea Philippines Sierra Leone
Somalia South Africa South Korea South Sudan,
Republic of
Sudan Syria Tajikistan Turkey
Turkmenistan Uganda Ukraine Venezuela
West Bank
Yemen Zimbabwe